Bangladesh to bat first in Test


Bangladesh handed Test debuts to Soumya Sarkar and fast bowler Mohammad Shahid, while Pakistan picked uncapped batsman Sami Aslam for the opening match of the two-Test series.

Pakistan also ignored senior off-spinner Saeed Ajmal, preferring to go in with two specialist slow bowlers in left-armer Zulfiqar Babar and leg-spinner Yasir Shah.

The hosts swept the preceding one-day series 3-0 and also defeated Pakistan for the first time in a Twenty20 international.


Bangladesh: Mushfiqur Rahim (capt), Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Mominul Haque, Shakib Al Hasan, Mohammad Mahmudullah, Shuvagata Hom, Soumya Sarkar, Taijul Islam, Rubel Hossain, Mohammad Shahid.

Pakistan: Misbah-ul-Haq (capt), Mohammad Hafeez, Sami Aslam, Asad Shafiq, Azhar Ali, Younis Khan, Yasir Shah, Zulfiqar Babar, Sarfraz Ahmed, Wahab Riaz, Junaid Khan.

Umpires: Nigel Llong (ENG) and Ranmore Martinesz (SRI).

TV Umpire: Paul Reiffel (AUS)

Match Referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL) – AFP

Original source: Bangladesh to bat first in Test