Comitis rolls out the red carpet for Cape legends


At the new team’s launch function in June, owner John Comitis emphasised the commitment that City would be a club for the people of the city. As part of that commitment, he said, 30 Cape football legends would be eligible for life season tickets, and they would be seated in a VIP area.

“We have had many extraordinary football talents hailing from Cape Town, however for this moment we would like to honour these most senior guys with the well-deserved accolades that are due to them, for their service to the game,” said Comitis

Furthermore, any other player who had, in the past, played for Cape Town City, Hellenic, Glenville or Cape Town Spurs, is eligible for an entrance ticket on contacting the club.

30 VIP legends named are:

Abe Wymers, Bassier Medell, Bernard Hartze, Bernie van Niekerk, Billy O’Grady, Boebie Solomons, Clive Darries, Coenie Stuurman, Ben Anderson, David Nyathi, Desiree Ellis, Ernest Zondi, Farouk Abrahams, Gary France, George van Niekerk, Ivan Dagnin, Khayo Mngomeni, Neville Londt, Pepe dos Santos, Puzzy Jansen, Reggie Jantjies, Peter Eagles, Peter Fisher, Francis Tana, Sabelo Peter, Sergio dos Santos, Thabo Mngomeni, Tony Lupton, Vince Belgiums and Wilf de Bruyn

Cape Argus

Original source: Comitis rolls out the red carpet for Cape legends