Four changes to Lions team


Despite running out 22-18 victors over the Bulls last week, the coach has opted to continue his policy of rotation to keep his squad fresh.

At prop, Julian Redelinghuys will start at tighthead while Jaco Kriel makes a return at flank with Derick Minnie dropping to the bench in line with Ackermann’s rotation policy.

In the backline, Faf de Klerk makes a starting berth at scrumhalf and Mark Richards will make his Super Rugby debut on the left wing.

Another Super Rugby debut awaits on the bench with Lohan Jacobs hopeful he will get his first taste of action in the top-tier competition.

The Lions have won three matches on the trot, while the Sharks have been ravaged by injuries and suspensions, not forgetting their 52-10 defeat at home to the Crusaders last week in Durban.

Lions team: 15. Andries Coetzee, 14. Ruan Combrinck, 13. Lionel Mapoe, 12. Harold Vorster, 11. Mark Richards, 10. Elton Jantjies, 9. Faf de Klerk, 8. Warren Whiteley (captain), 7. Warwick Tecklenburg, 6. Jaco Kriel, 5. Franco Mostert, 4. Andries Ferreira, 3. Julian Redelinghuys, 2. Robbie Coetzee, 1. Jacques van Rooyen.Replacements: 16. Armand van der Merwe, 17. Corne Fourie, 18. Ruan Dreyer, 19. Robert Kruger, 20. Derick Minnie, 21. Lohan Jacobs, 22. Marnitz Boshoff, 23. Howard Mnisi. – ANA

Original source: Four changes to Lions team