Lambie to captain Sharks


The Bok flyhalf steps back into the leadership role as the Sharks made three changes to their side which beat the Force 15-9 last week.

Sharks regular skipper Bismarck du Plessis was banned for four matches after kicking an opponent in the head last week.

Lambie comes in for Frans Steyn who was suspended after receiving a red card against the Force, and was later suspended for five weeks at a Sanzar hearing following the match.

Fellow Boks Marcell Coetzee and Cobus Reinach also make a return to the starting lineup. Reinach comes in at scrumhalf for Conrad Hoffman. Flanker Coetzee will replace Renaldo Bothma at openside in the other change to the team. Bothma will provide cover on the bench.

Sharks team: 15. SP Marais, 14. Odwa Ndungane, 13. JP Pietersen, 12. Andre Esterhuizen, 11. Lwazi Mvovo, 10. Pat Lambie (captain), 9. Cobus Reinach, 8. Ryan Kankowski, 7. Jean Deysel, 6. Marcell Coetzee, 5. Marco Wentzel, 4. Mouritz Botha, 3. Jannie du Plessis, 2. Kyle Cooper, 1. Tendai Mtawarira. Replacements: 16. Franco Marais, 17. Thomas du Toit, 18. Matt Stevens, 19. Lubabalo Mtyanda, 20. Renaldo Bothma, 21. Conrad Hoffmann, 22. Fred Zeilinga, 23. Waylon Murray. – ANA

Original source: Lambie to captain Sharks