More Cape Town Sevens tickets


The World Rugby Sevens Series kicks off in Dubai next Friday, December 4, with the South African leg taking place the following weekend on December 12-13 for the first time at the Cape Town Stadium.

The Cape tournament was sold out a few weeks ago, but Saru said in a statement on Thursday that ticket returns from sponsors and other stakeholders are likely to be made available next week. Ticket prices range from R100 to R250.

“We’re hoping to have a final number of returned tickets by early next week, which will mean we can put them on sale to the public by Saturday, December 5,” Saru chief executive Jurie Roux said.

“We would advise fans who could not get tickets to the event to keep their eyes and ears on the media to watch out for the announcement of the release of more tickets to the Cape Town Sevens.”

On Wednesday, Springbok Sevens coach Neil Powell included 15-man Boks such as Juan de Jongh and Francois Hougaard, as well as Stormers stars Cheslin Kolbe and Seabelo Senatla – the top try-scorer in last season’s World Series with 47 touchdowns – and World Sevens Player of the Year Werner Kok in the 12-man squad for Dubai and Cape Town.

Blitzboks captain Kyle Brown is scheduled to play in his 50th Sevens Series tournament on home soil in Cape Town, where he first burst on to the rugby scene for UCT.

Springbok Sevens squad

Juan de Jongh, Francois Hougaard, Cecil Afrika, Rayno Benjamin, Kyle Brown (captain), Chris Dry, Justin Geduld, Werner Kok, Cheslin Kolbe, Seabelo Senatla, Kwagga Smith, Philip Snyman.


Original source: More Cape Town Sevens tickets