Proteas win the series Down Under


The Proteas’ bowlers created a cauldron of pressure on the Aussie batsmen through intense spells of penetrative seam bowling on this fourth morning.

The South African bowlers initially kept it tight before barging through the door after overnight batsman Usman Khawaja (64) edged Abbott behind. This was the start of a horror collapse that saw the Aussies lose eight wickets for 32 runs in 19.2 overs.

The chief destroyers were Abbott, who snared 6/77, and Rabada, who finished with 4/34, with the latter claiming four wickets for just seven runs in seven overs this morning.

Abbott was named Man of the Match for his match haul of 9/118.

After their 2008 and 2012 successes, the Proteas are the first team to win three consecutive series in Australia since the legendary West Indies teams of the 1980s and 90s.

Australia: 85 and 161

South Africa: 326

South Africa won by an innings and 80 runs


SA’s Kyle Abbott and Kagiso Rabada trigger an Australian collapse of epic proportions at the Bellerive Oval in Hobart.

Original source: Proteas win the series Down Under