WP women win 3rd CSA tournament


Robyn Appels (3/39) and Shabnim Ismail (2/25) were stars with the ball, taking five wickets between them to see Northerns fall short of victory after setting them a 165-run target when WP won the toss and elected to bat first.

The WP batters grafted hard on a wicket that did not offer much to post a respectable 164/7 in their allotted 50 overs. Ismail, Laura Wolfvaardt and Lara Goodall made the most notable contributions with the bat with 34, 30 and 27 respectively.

In reply, Northerns’ batters could not keep their wickets long enough to bat with their in-form captain, Mignon du Preez, who top scored with 68. Four ducks, as well as Chené Bester, Marcia Letsoalo and Michelle Burt’s respective 23, 16 and 14 could not get them over the line in the end.

CSA senior cricket manager, Edward Khoza was delighted with the inaugural tournament’s success.

“It was really satisfying to see how well the teams played this week,” he said. “This tournament was to put the best teams up against one another and up the stakes by making this a promotion/relegation tournament and they did not fail to produce quality cricket that they can all be proud of.

“It was also good to see the players from the national team step up and play outstanding cricket as well as new youngsters being identified for the Monitoring Squad of the 2015/2016 season,” Khoza concluded.

The 2015-16 Monitoring Squad:

1. Trisha Chetty (KwaZulu-Natal)

2. Robyn Searle (Gauteng)

3. Andrie Steyn (Northerns)

4. Dané van Niekerk (Eastern Province)

5. Laura Wofvaardt (Western Province)

6. Sibongiseni Ndunana (Eastern Province)

7. Nikita Sole (KwaZulu-Natal)

8. Bernadine Bezuidenhout (Western Province)

9. Nadine Moodley (KwaZulu-Natal)

10. Mignon du Preez (Northerns)

11. Alexis le Breton (Western Province)

12. Zizipho Mdebuka (Western Province)

13. Lizelle Lee (North West)

14. Marcia Nape (Free State)

15. Shandré Fritz (Western Province)

16. Maraika Kirchoff (Border)

17. Anneke Bosch (Free State)

18. Siya Koloi (Eastern Province)

19. Nkuli Thabethe (Gauteng)

20. Lauren Booysen (Eastern Province)

21. Marizanne Kapp (Eastern Province)

22. Chloe Tryon (KwaZulu-Natal)

23. Dinesha Devnarain (KwaZulu-Natal)

24. Lara Goodall (Western Province)

25. Michaela Andrews (South Western Districts)

26. Yolandi Potgieter (Boland)

27. Odene Kirsten (Northerns)

28. Izelle Cilliers (Free State)

29. Masabatha Klaas (Free State)

30. Elriessa Thuinessen (North West)

31. Mieke de Ridder (Eastern Province)

32. Suné Luus (Northerns)

33. Nondumiso Shangase (KwaZulu-Natal)

34. Yolani Fourie (Gauteng)

35. Michelle Burt (Northerns)

36. Lungi Kewla (KwaZulu-Natal)

37. Akhona Nyiki (Boder)

38. Robyn Appels (Western Province)

39. Daksha Ramratkan (KwaZulu-Natal)

40. Evodia Yakile (North West)

41. Nadia Mbokotwana (Western Province)

42. Matshipi Letsoalo (Northerns)

43. Maggie Mphahlele (Northerns)

44. Ayabonga Kakha (Border)

45. Moseline Daniels (Boland)

46. Shabnim Ismail (Western Province)

47. Eloise Webb (Eastern Province)

48. Zinhle Mali (Border) – ANA

Original source: WP women win 3rd CSA tournament